Kids Choice: Pancakes

Standard

20110828-102213.jpg

I’m frustrated with trying to get these hooligans to eat, so we’re doing a round of kids’ choice lunches this week.

First up is Emma’s choice: pancakes!

In full disclosure, I bought mini frozen pancakes. I know, I know. I generally like to make these things because it’s loads cheaper (plus you can toss in chocolate chips and food coloring and the kids think you’re awesome), but I was working with a short timeframe, so frozen was going to have to do.

That said, today the kids had six mini pancakes, five or six cherries, Stonyfield farms yogurt and a treat: mini Oreos for the little two girls and two rainbow Chips Ahoy for the older two. Oh, and Jaylen has applesauce instead of yogurt because he hates yogurt.

20110828-102245.jpg

(Also, my foot’s in the picture. I had to go back to taking photos on my phone because I left my memory card at work.)

We picked up some cutters and candy eyes this weekend, trying to build our bento supplies up. The kids enjoyed their little pancakes faces (the smile is a cashew).

Most of the kids ate everything. Jenna didn’t eat her yogurt because she was afraid it’d be gross (we had a conversation about chemicals, additives, preservatives, dyes, etc. on the way to school this morning after I told them not to expect their yogurt to taste like Danimals or Go-Gurt). Jaiden didn’t eat her cookies (weird, I know) and apparently 5-6 cherries is too many because no one finished those. Jenna didn’t eat her cashews (“I hate NUTS!” she said) and Emma said someone knocked her lunch on the floor today, so she had to eat cafeteria food. Oh, and her lunch was still in the lunch box after it was picked up off of the floor. ANNOYING.

Tomorrow we’re going with Jenna’s choice: ramen noodles.

Leave a Reply

