A date and cheese boats

Standard

For our lunch date today Emma requested pancakes and cheese, two of her favorites. And so they had mini pancakes; she and Jenna had sight words written on theirs, Jaylen had a pirate and “ARGH!” on his and Jaiden, who prefers me not to write on her food, had candy eyes plus lipstick and eyelashes.

20110915-063617.jpg

20110915-063701.jpg

20110915-063816.jpg

In addition to the pancakes, they had strawberries, raspberries, Horizon organic yogurt Tubers and adorable little Babybel cheese boats!

20110915-064207.jpg

And this is where the fun nearly stops. There’s an air show this weekend and when I got to work this morning I found out their media event was about an hour prior to Emma’s lunchtime. As those things sometimes do, it went later than planned and I was late for our lunch date.

And I had Emma’s lunch box with me. Ugh. By the time I got there she had already finished a school lunch and spilled chocolate pudding all over herself. But she ran to me when she saw me, so I’m assuming she forgives me.

20110915-065204.jpg

We sat outside in a courtyard area and she ate most of what was in her lunch box while she chatted with me. She was excited to read the sight words, too. When she was done we joined the rest of her class in the hallway and went to her classroom. Emma didn’t want me to leave and it made me feel guilty, but I had to get back to work. It was great to spend one-on-one time with her, which is rare for the two of us.

Leave a Reply

